May 27, 2017 RIZEMAG 0Comment

The winners
of the 20th Cinéfondation Selection

The winners of the 2017 Cinéfondation © Mathilde Petit / FDC
The Cinéfondation and Short Films Jury headed by Cristian Mungiu and including Clotilde Hesme, Athina Rachel Tsangari, Barry Jenkins and Eric Khoo, has awarded the 2017 Cinéfondation Prizes during a ceremony held in the Buñuel Theatre, followed by the screening of the winning films.

The Cinéfondation Selection consisted of 16 student films, chosen out of 2 600 entries coming from 626 film schools around the world.

First Prize
PAUL EST LÀ (Paul Is Here )
directed by Valentina MAUREL
INSAS, BelgiumSecond Prize
HEYVAN (AniMal )
directed by Bahram & Bahman ARK
Iranian National School of Cinema, IranThird Prize
directed by Tommaso USBERTI
La Fémis, France
The Cinéfondation allocates a €15,000 grant for the First Prize, €11,250 for the Second and €7,500 for the Third.
The winner of the First Prize is also guaranteed the presentation of their first feature film at the Festival de Cannes.  The awarded films will be screened at the Cinéma du Panthéon on May 30th at 7 p.m.  All the films of the Cinéfondation selection will be also be screened at the Cinémathèque française on May 31st   and June 1st 2017.